The History of St. Finian’s Community College
St. Finian’s Community College or St. Finian’s Vocational School as it was once known, is one of the oldest secondary schools in Swords. First opened in September 1956 in North Street/Seatown Road with 107 students, it began as a co-educational school open to all students who wished to attend. Unlike other secondary schools at the time, no fees were charged and this spirit of free and inclusive education for all continues to this day.
The current school building in Castlefarm opened in September 1981 and the school celebrated its 50th Anniversary Celebrations in 2006. Plans for an extension to the current building are on-going as the current student body is set to increase in the next couple of years.
As before, St. Finian’s remains committed to the highest standards of teaching but also the holistic education of young people where each student’s individuality and unique contribution to the school is respected.
The town of Swords has grown from a rural village to a multicultural satellite town of over 30,000. This is reflected in our student body where we have students from over thirty nationalities. As a multi-denominational school we welcome individuals from all cultural, social and religious backgrounds.